Language tests

surendran-mp-IhWYiwSxm8g-unsplash-resize730x547-crop730x243.jpg

Under bilateral agreements, especially for general and faculty agreements, some universities require mobility students to present a language test certifying their level. Indeed, when your host university is in a country where the national language is not your mother tongue, a language test is very often a prerequisite for admission. There exists different types of commercial tests, and the one you should take will vary depending on your host university. It is therefore your responsibility to find out beforehand whether a test is required and, if so, which one.

TOP ^

Institutes and deadlines

First of all, it is important to take into account that these commercial tests are only offered by a few accredited institutes and that demand is high during the period preceding the application deadlines for exchanges. Therefore, in order to secure a place, it is necessary to anticipate and start the application process early.

You will find on this page the different accredited institutes in Switzerland, the available exam dates as well as the deadlines for application.

TOP ^

Reimbursement of fees for language tests for university exchanges

A number of our international partners, principally those that teach in English, require our students to provide a commercial language test such as IELTS, TOEFL or Cambridge.

 

As a result, in these situations, we have no other option than to require our students to take a test of this kind when submitting their application. These types of tests are particularly expensive, at a cost of around CHF 300.00.

 

As part of its commitment to supporting the possibility of university exchanges for its students, the UNIL Rectorate has decided to cover the costs of commercial language tests required in relation to applying for an exchange.

 

Accordingly, from academic year 2019-2020 onwards, students applying to a partner university that requires evidence of a commercial language test can be reimbursed for the costs of the test concerned, by completing the form below, attaching the documents requested and returning it by email to studentmobility@unil.ch (SASME).

 

SASME can only reimburse costs incurred by the student; no test fees will be paid directly by SASME to the organisation offering the language test.
 

Conditions and deadlines for a refund

  • The student must provide proof that the partner university only accepts commercial tests (copy of the exchange agreement form if it mentions it, signature of the faculty's mobility advisor for faculty agreements / SEMP, document or extract from the website of the partner university, etc.).
     
  • Reimbursement is only due if the partner university does not accept a language certificate or the ISEP test from the Language Center instead of the test in question or any other document worth equivalence (secondary studies or bachelor's in English, maturity bilingual, etc.).
     
  • Students are refunded whether they are selected for an exchange or not. On the other hand, the student who afterthoughts waives his application for the destination concerned will be required to return the amount paid by UNIL.
     
  • The form must be submitted to SASME by email at studentmobility@unil.ch following the submission of your application for an exchange by March 31 at the latest (of the year of application for an exchange). For faculty and SEMP agreements, proof of the application for an exchange is required (since the application file is submitted within the faculties).
     
  • Only one test can be reimbursed per student during their studies at UNIL.
     
  • The test in question must have been taken towards the application for a university exchange at UNIL. Any test passed more than 4 months before the application deadline concerned by the student's application cannot be taken into account.

TOP ^

Complementary information

In order to prepare as well as possible for your language test, the UNIL Language Centre offers preparation courses for the various exams aimed at making it easier for you to pass them. Whether it is for English, German, Spanish or other languages, you have the possibility, if you wish, to follow courses at the level you wish to acquire.

For more information on these preparation courses, please visit: Language Centre.

TOP ^

Follow us:            

Reimbursement form for language test fees

 Reimbursement form (119 Ko)

Tests de langue

surendran-mp-IhWYiwSxm8g-unsplash-resize730x547-crop730x243.jpg

Dans le cadre des conventions bilatérales, en particulier pour les accords généraux et accords facultaires, certaines universités exigent des étudiants de mobilité qu'ils présentent un test de langue certifiant leur niveau. En effet, lorsque votre université d'accueil se trouve dans un pays où la langue nationale n'est pas votre langue maternelle, il arrive très souvent qu'un test de langue soit un prérequis à l'admission. Il existe différents types de tests commerciaux, et celui à présenter varie en fonction de l'université d'accueil. Il vous incombe donc de vous renseigner au préalable afin de savoir si la présentation d'un test est nécessaire, et si oui, lequel.

TOP ^

Instituts et dates limites

Avant toute chose, il est important de prendre en compte le fait que ces tests commerciaux sont proposés uniquement par certains instituts accrédités et que la demande est forte durant la période précédant les délais de postulation aux échanges. Dès lors, afin de vous assurer d'une place, il est nécessaire d'anticiper et d'entreprendre les démarches d'inscription assez tôt.

Vous trouverez sur cette page les différents instituts accrédités en Suisse, les dates d'examens disponibles ainsi que les dates limites d'application.

TOP ^

Remboursement des frais de test de langue en cas d’échange universitaire

Dans sa volonté d’encourager les possibilités d’échanges universitaires pour ses étudiant·e·s, la Direction de l’UNIL a décidé d’assumer la prise en charge des frais engendrés par les tests de langue commerciaux exigés par nos universités partenaires dans le cadre des accords d’échange que l’UNIL a conclus avec elles.

 

Ainsi, les étudiant·e·s postulant pour une université partenaire qui exige uniquement la production d’un test de langue commercial peuvent se voir rembourser les coûts du test en question en remplissant le formulaire qui se trouve ci-dessous, en y joignant les documents demandés et en l'envoyant par email à studentmobility@unil.ch (SASME).

 

Le SASME ne procède que par remboursement à l’étudiant·e ; aucun test ne sera payé directement par le SASME à l’organisme organisant le test de langue.
 

Conditions et délais pour un remboursement

  • L’étudiant·e doit fournir une preuve que l’université partenaire n’accepte que des tests commerciaux (copie de la fiche de l’accord si celle-ci le mentionne, signature du conseiller mobilité de la faculté pour les accords facultaires/SEMP, document ou extrait du site internet de l’université partenaire, etc.). 
     
  • Le remboursement est exigible uniquement si l’université partenaire n’accepte pas une attestation de langue ou le test ISEP du Centre de Langue en lieu et place du test en question ou tout autre document valant équivalence (études secondaires ou bachelor en anglais, maturité bilingue, etc.).
     
  • Le remboursement est fait tant aux étudiant·e·s retenu·e·s que non-retenu·e·s pour un échange. En revanche, l’étudiant·e qui renonce à sa candidature pour la destination concernée après coup sera tenu·e à la restitution de la somme versée par l’UNIL.
     
  • Le formulaire est à remettre au SASME par email à l'adresse studentmobility@unil.ch à la suite du dépôt de votre candidature à un échange au plus tard au 31 mars (de l’année de la candidature à un échange). Pour les accords facultaires et SEMP, une preuve de la postulation à un échange est exigée (dans la mesure où le dossier de candidature est déposé au sein des facultés).
     
  • Un seul test ne peut être remboursé par étudiant·e au cours de son cursus à l’UNIL.
     
  • Le test en question doit avoir été passé en prévision de la candidature de l’étudiant·e à un échange universitaire à l’UNIL. Tout test passé plus de 4 mois avant le délai de candidature concerné par la postulation de l’étudiant·e ne peut être pris en compte.

TOP ^

Infos complémentaires

Afin de vous préparer au mieux pour votre test de langue, le Centre de langues de l'UNIL propose des cours de préparation aux différents examens visant à faciliter la réussite de ces derniers. Que ce soit pour l'anglais, l'allemand, l'espagnol, et bien d'autres, vous avez, si vous le souhaitez, la possibilité de suivre des cours du niveau que vous souhaitez acquérir.

Pour plus d'informations sur ces cours de préparations, veuillez visiter: Centre de langues.

TOP ^

Suivez nous:            

Formulaire de demande de remboursement pour les tests de langue

Partagez: